top of page

180 Gram Vinyl, Limited Edition, Orginal Master Recording


Streamlined Pop, Eclectic Rock, Whimsical Individualism, and Organic Production Come Together on Harry Nilsson's Commercial Breakthrough: Nilsson Schmilsson Teems with Personality, Character, and Emotion


Mastered from the Original Master Tapes for Sublime Sound: Mobile Fidelity 180g 45RPM Vinyl 2LP Set Bring Elastic Vocals, Brilliant Melodies, and Broad Creative Range into Full, Clear View 1971 Album Features Ace Contributions from Session Pros: Includes #1 Smash 'Without You,' Novelty Favorite 'Coconut,' and Top 40 Romp 'Jump into the Fire' Harry Nilsson was many things in life-revered songwriter, razorsharp wit, gifted singer, studio pioneer, daring poet, cult icon, creative maverick, fearless interpreter, larger-than-life inspiration, man of mystery and intrigue. All these hallmark facets come together in a resplendent symphony on Nilsson Schmilsson, a go-to standout in the beloved artist's vaunted canon and his most commercially successful release. Home to the number-one smash 'Without You,' Top 10 novelty hit 'Coconut,' and deceptively upbeat 'Gotta Get Up'-prominently featured in the Netflix series 'Russian Doll'-the 1971 work walks a tightrope between streamlined accessibility and mischievous, whimsical individualism like no other music of the era. Mastered from the original master tapes, Mobile Fidelity's numbered limited-edition 180g 45RPM 2LP set of Nilsson Schmilsson feature unadulterated transparency and visceral solidity. The Brooklyn native's three-and-a-half octave range and beautiful phrasing come across with captivating depth, crystalline purity, and an emotional scope that stretches from tenderness to melodrama to sarcasm and beyond. His tremendous singing takes center stage in conjunction with eclectic arrangements that lend an organic cohesiveness the four-time Grammy-nominated record. Providing a prime example of it's architect's breadth, exceptionally played organs, mellotrons, horns, strings, guitars, piano, and more paint daring soundscapes that on these reissues teem with color, texture, and detail. Reference-level spatiality and separation contribute to full, three-dimensional imaging and the ability to identify distinctive instruments (and their tones) in the mix. Anything lesser wouldn't befit the legend Rolling Stone proclaimed 'a crucial bridge between the baroque psychedelic pop of the late Sixties and the more personal singer-songwriter era of the Seventies.'


- Disc 1 -

1 Gotta Get Up

2 Driving Along

3 Early in the Morning

4 The Moonbeam Song

5 Down


- Disc 2 -

1 Without You

2 Coconut

3 Let the Good Times Roll

4 Jump Into the Fire

5 I'll Never Leave You

Harry Nilsson - Nilsson Schmilsson

SKU: 821797249812
  • TYPE: New Sealed Vinyl/LP

    LABEL: Mobile Fidelity


    UPC: 821797249812

    GENRE: Rock

    RELEASE DATE: 12/11/2020

    PRODUCT ID: MOFY2498.1

    WEIGHT: 1 lb

bottom of page